IS THE WINE VEGAN ?

IS THE WINE VEGAN ?

SUBSTANCES OF ANIMAL ORIGIN AND WINE


The question may seem odd since, a priori, wine is fermented grape juice. So a totally vegetable product. The answer is not so simple, however, because traditional production methods lead to the addition of a multitude of products to wine, in this case products of animal origin.

In recent years, we have often thought of plant protection products used to treat vines because of our concern for the environment. But it should be noted that other products are used at all stages of wine making.

IN THE GLASS, WHICH SUBSTANCES IN THE END?

Thus, you can find a lot more than just grapes in your glass of wine.

  •     Residues of products used for the treatment of the vine.
  •     Traces of the products used on the grapes just harvested.
  •     Traces of the products used on the wine itself to modify its appearance, improve its conservation, produce a standardized wine.

That is about 200 different components, in addition to the grape....

A quick overview of the products authorized in Europe:

On the harvest (grapes just picked):

- Sucrose to increase the alcohol level.
- Tartaric acid to acidify.
- Calcium carbonate, potassium tartrate, potassium bicarbonate to deacidify.

On wine (to ensure visual clarity):

- Antioxidants.
- Fining products to ensure the clarification and stabilization of the wine.


Wine vegan Louonvine.com animal fish food gelatin protect treat
And it is especially at this stage that we can find products of animal origin.



Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published